Home > column > Middle seat 10B and the marine

Middle seat 10B and the marine

Sometimes I forget we are in the midst of war. I’m currently in Michigan for a wedding (more on that later) and on the flight up I sat next to a marine. He was around my age and was visiting home before being shipped to Afghanistan. I know of friends and family members who know people going into the war zone,but this was the first person I ever met that was going to Afghanistan. I wished him good luck though that may have been a tad insensitive. This guy is fighting for our freedom yet there’s a chance he may not get a chance to enjoy the freedoms I have. We aren’t that different. Hopefully he knows he’s loved by his friends and family. In the end, that’s what matters: love.

I know I’ll never see the marine again but I hope its not because of unfortunate circumstance.

Categories: column Tags:
  1. August 9, 2010 at 20:12

    It’s a bit awkward when that conversation comes up with people from the military. I never really know what to say. I’m dating someone who’s been to Iraq 3x. What do you say to that? Hmmm…

  2. Jesse
    August 12, 2010 at 18:08

    The few times I’ve spoken with those in active duty, I like to wish them good luck, and also a ‘thank you.’ I think that’s appropriate and it lets them know people are grateful for their service.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

